Faculty (2004)

 Douglas Bauer is the author of  The Book of Famous Iowans (1997) and two earlier novels; Prairie City, Iowa, a work of nonfiction; and The Stuff of Fiction: Advice on Craft (2000). He also edited the upcoming anthology Prime Times: Writers on Their Favorite Television Shows (2004). Bauer has taught creative writing at Harvard University and Bennington College, and currently teaches as the Elizabeth Drew Professor of English at Smith College.

Chang-rae Lee is the author of the novels Aloft (2004); A Gesture Life (2000), an ALA Best Book of the Year; and Native Speaker (1996), which won a PEN/Hemingway Award and an American Book Award. Granta and The New Yorker named him among the best American novelists and writers under 40 (respectively); Joyce Carol Oates called Lee one of the most talented and promising writers of his generation. Lee attended the Conference as a fiction participant in 1992. He currently teaches as a professor in the Program in Creative Writing and the Council of the Humanities at Princeton University.

Aimee Bender is the author of The Girl in the Flammable Skirt and An Invisible Sign of My Own, both Los Angeles Times bestsellers. Her short fiction has been published in Granta, GQ, Harper’s, The Paris Review, and McSweeney’s. She teaches fiction at the University of Southern California.

Jim Shepard is the author of Project X  (2004), Nosferatu (1998), and four earlier novels. His stories have appeared in The New Yorker, Harper’s, The Atlantic, The Paris Review, and The Best American Short Stories, and are collected in Love & Hydrogen (2004) and Batting against Castro (1996). Of Love & Hydrogen, Norman Rush wrote: “Jim Shepard’s access to different voices, social types, levels of experience, is truly astonishing. He has observed deeply, and his selection of detail from that observation is brilliant. This is the work of a deft, audacious artist.”

Mary Jo Bang is the author of Apology for Want, which won the Bakeless Prize; Louise in Love, winner of the Alice Fay di Castagnola Award from the Poetry Society of America; and The Downstream Extremity of the Isle of Swans, winner of the University of Georgia Press Contemporary Poetry Series Competition. She has also received a Discovery/The Nation prize and a Hodder Fellowship from Princeton University.

Brenda Hillman is the author of six volumes of poems, the most recent of which is Loose Sugar. She has been the recipient of numerous awards, including the Delmore Schwartz Memorial Award for Poetry from the Poetry Society of America and the Poetry Society of America’s Norma Farber First Book Prize.

Harryette Mullen has published six collections of poems, including Sleeping with the Dictionary, a 2002 finalist for both the National Book Critics Circle Award and the National Book Award in poetry; Blues Baby: Early Poems, and S*PeRM**K*T. Her honors and awards include grants from the Helene Wurlitzer Foundation and the Texas Institute of Letters, and a Gertrude Stein Award in Innovative American Poetry.

Arthur Sze is a poet and translator whose books include The Redshifting Web: Poems 1970-1998, a finalist for the 1999 Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize, and The Silk Dragon, winner of the Western States Book Award in Translation. He is the recipient of a Lannan Literary Award, an Asian American Literary Award, and multiple fellowships from both the Witter Bynner Foundation and the National Endowment for the Arts.