The faculty for the 36th conference, July 24-29, 2016:


Camille Dungy Camille T. Dungy
Camille T. Dungy is the author of Smith Blue, Suck on the Marrow, and What to Eat, What to Drink, What to Leave for Poison. She is the editor of Black Nature: Four Centuries of African American Nature Poetry and co-editor of From the Fishouse: An Anthology of Poems that Sing, Rhyme, Resound, Syncopate, Alliterate, and Just Plain Sound Great. Dungy’s honors and awards include fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts, the Sustainable Arts Foundation, and Cave Canem. She has won an American Book Award, two Northern California Book Awards, and a California Book Award silver medal. She is Professor of English at Colorado State University.
Brenda Hillman Brenda Hillman
Brenda Hillman’s most recent work is Seasonal Works With Letters on Fire, her ninth volume of poetry, which received the Griffin International Poetry Prize in 2014. Previous titles include Practical Water, which received the Los Angeles Times Prize for Poetry, and Pieces of Air in the Epic, winner of the William Carlos Williams Prize from the Poetry Society of America. She edited, with Patricia Dienstfrey, the collection The Grand Permission: New Writings on Poetics and Motherhood, and with Garrett Caples and Paul Ebenkamp, the poetry of Richard O. Moore, Particulars of Place. A longtime faculty member of the Napa Valley Writers’ Conference, she is the Olivia Filippi Professor of Poetry at St. Mary’s College.
Major Jackson Major Jackson
Major Jackson is the author of four collections of poetry: Roll Deep (2015); Holding Company and Hoops, both finalists for an NAACP Image Award for Outstanding Literature; and Leaving Saturn, winner of the 2001 Cave Canem Poetry Prize and finalist for a National Book Critics Circle Award. He is also a recipient of a Guggenheim Fellowship, Whiting Writers’ Award and has been honored by the Pew Fellowship in the Arts and the Witter Bynner Foundation in conjunction with the Library of Congress. He is the Richard Dennis Green and Gold Professor at University of Vermont, a core faculty member of the Bennington Writing Seminars, and currently serves as the poetry editor of the Harvard Review.
Brian Teare Brian Teare
A 2015 Pew Fellow in the Arts, Brian Teare is the recipient of poetry fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts, the MacDowell Colony, the Headlands Center for the Arts, the Fund for Poetry, and the American Antiquarian Society. He is the author of four critically acclaimed books — The Room Where I Was Born, Sight Map, the Lambda Award-winning Pleasure, and Companion Grasses, a finalist for the Kingsley Tufts Award. His fifth book is The Empty Form Goes All the Way to Heaven (Ahsahta, 2015). An assistant professor at Temple University, he lives in South Philadelphia, where he makes books by hand for his micropress, Albion Books.


Charles Baxter Charles Baxter
Charles Baxter is the author, most recently, of There’s Something I Want You to Do, published in February, 2015. He is also the author of Gryphon: New and Selected Stories, published in 2011; The Soul Thief, published in 2008; and of Saul and Patsy, published in 2003. He has published three novels, the third of which, The Feast of Love, was a finalist for the National Book Award in 2000 and has been made into a film starring Morgan Freeman. He has received the Award of Merit in the Short Story and the Award in Literature from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, and the Rea Award in the Short Story in 2012. His fiction has been anthologized in Best American Short Stories seven times, eleven times in The Pushcart Prize Anthology, and translated into many languages. He is currently the Edelstein-Keller Professor of Creative Writing at the University of Minnesota.
Ron Carlson
Ron Carlson
Ron Carlson’s most recent novel is Return to Oakpine. His short stories have appeared in Esquire, Harpers, The New Yorker, The Atlantic Monthly, and other journals, as well as the Best American Short Stories, the O’Henry Prize Series, The Pushcart Prize Anthology, The Norton Anthology of Short Fiction and other anthologies. Ron Carlson Writes a Story, his book on writing, is taught widely. He is the author of two books of poems, Room Service and The Blue Box. He has been awarded a National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship, the Cohen Prize at Ploughshares, the McGinnis Award at the Iowa Review, the Aspen Literary Award; and his novel Five Skies was One Book Rhode Island in 2009. He is the Director of the Graduate Program in Fiction at the University of California, Irvine.
Lan Samantha Chang Lan Samantha Chang
Lan Samantha Chang is the author of three books: the critically acclaimed novella All Is Forgotten, Nothing Is Lost, the novel Inheritance, and Hunger: A Novella and Stories. Chang has been honored as the California Book Award Silver Medalist, as a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Award, and with a Bay Area Book Award and literary awards from the Greensboro Review and the Transatlantic Review. Her work has also been nominated for the PEN Center USA West Award and the PEN/Hemingway Literature Prize. Her fiction has appeared in The Atlantic, Ploughshares, and Best American Short Stories. She is the recipient of fellowships from Princeton University, the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, the NEA, and the Guggenheim Foundation. Chang currently serves as director of the Iowa Writers’ Workshop.
Yiyun Li Yiyun Li
Yiyun Li is the author of four books, including, most recently, Kinder than Solitude. She is the recipient of the Frank O’Connor International Short Story Award, PEN/Hemingway Award, MacArthur fellowship, and the Benjamin H. Danks Award from American Academy of Arts and Letters, among many others. Her work has been translated into more than twenty languages. She teaches writing at UC Davis, and is a contributing editor to A Public Space.