Faculty for the 39th conference, July 28 – August 2, 2019:


Eavan Boland Eavan Boland is the author of, most recently, A Woman Without a Country and New Collected Poems. Her other books of poetry include Domestic Violence, Against Love Poetry, The Lost Land, and In a Time of Violence. Boland is also the author of two books of prose, Object Lessons: The Life of the Woman and the Poet in Our Time, and A Journey with Two Maps: Becoming a Woman Poet. She co-edited the Norton anthologies The Making of a Poem and The Making of a Sonnet. Her awards include a Lannan Foundation Award in Poetry, among others. A member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, she was elected in 2018 to the Royal Irish Academy. She directs the creative writing program at Stanford University.
Forrest Gander Forrest Gander, a writer and translator with degrees in geology and literature, was born in the Mojave Desert, grew up in Virginia, and taught for many years at Brown University with his wife, the poet CD Wright. Among Gander’s most recent books are Be With, the novel The Trace, and Eiko & Koma, a collaboration with the eponymous movement artists. Gander’s book Core Samples from the World, a meditation on the ways we are revised and translated in encounters with the foreign, was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Critics Circle Award. Gander is also a translator whose recent works include Alice Iris Red Horse: Poems by Gozo Yoshimasu and Then Come Back: The Lost Neruda Poems. He’s the recipient of grants from the Library of Congress, the Guggenheim, Howard, Whiting and United States Artists Foundations.
Jane Hirshfield Jane Hirshfield is the author of eight collections of poetry, most recently The Beauty, a San Francisco Chronicle best book of the year and long-listed for the 2015 National Book Award. Her second collection of essays, Ten Windows: How Great Poems Transform the World, received the 2015 Northern California Book Award. Hirshfield’s work appears frequently in The New Yorker, The Atlantic, Poetry, The Times Literary Supplement, The New York Review of Books, and eight editions of The Best American Poems. Other honors include fellowships from the Guggenheim and Rockefeller Foundations, the National Endowment for the Arts, and the Academy of American Poets. In 2012 she was elected a Chancellor of the Academy of American Poets.
Major Jackson Major Jackson is the author of four books of poetry, including Roll Deep (2015), Holding Company (2010), Hoops (2006) and Leaving Saturn (2002), which won the Cave Canem Poetry Prize for a first book of poems. He is the editor of Library of America’s Countee Cullen: Collected Poems. A recipient of fellowships from the Fine Arts Work Center in Provincetown, the Guggenheim Foundation, the National Endowment for the Arts, and the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study at Harvard University, Major Jackson has been awarded a Pushcart Prize, a Whiting Writers’ Award, and has been honored by the Pew Fellowship in the Arts and the Witter Bynner Foundation in conjunction with the Library of Congress. He has published poems and essays in American Poetry Review, Callaloo, The New Yorker, The New York Times Book Review, Paris Review, Ploughshares, Poetry, Tin House, and his poems have been included in multiple volumes of Best American Poetry. Major Jackson lives in South Burlington, Vermont, where he is the Richard Dennis Green and Gold University Distinguished Professor at the University of Vermont. He serves as the Poetry Editor of The Harvard Review.




Lan Samantha Chang Lan Samantha Chang is the author of three books: the critically acclaimed novella All Is Forgotten, Nothing Is Lost, the novel Inheritance, and Hunger: A Novella and Stories. Chang has been honored as the California Book Award Silver Medalist, as a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Award, and with a Bay Area Book Award and literary awards from the Greensboro Review and the Transatlantic Review. Her work has also been nominated for the PEN Center USA West Award and the PEN/Hemingway Literature Prize. Her fiction has appeared in The Atlantic, Ploughshares, and Best American Short Stories. She is the recipient of fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts and the Guggenheim Foundation, among others. Chang directs the Iowa Writers’ Workshop.
Ryan Harty Ryan Harty is the author of the story collection Bring Me Your Saddest Arizona, which won the John Simmons Award for Short Fiction and was named a San Francisco Chronicle Best Book of the Year. His stories have been widely published in national magazines such as Playboy, Tin House, and the Missouri Review, have been performed on NPR’s Selected Shorts, and have been anthologized in The Best American Short Stories and the Pushcart Prize Anthology. Harty has a B.A. from Berkeley, an M.F.A. from the Iowa Writers’ Workshop, and was a Wallace Stegner Fellow at Stanford where he taught for many years. He lives in Brooklyn and teaches at Columbia University.
Mitchell S. Jackson Mitchell S. Jackson is the author of the memoir Survival Math, to be released in March of 2019. His debut novel The Residue Years was praised by publications including The New York Times, The Paris Review, and The Times (London). The novel won the Ernest Gaines Prize for Literary Excellence, and was a finalist for the Center for Fiction’s Flaherty-Dunnan First Novel Prize, the PEN/Hemingway Award for First Fiction, and the Hurston/Wright Legacy Award. Jackson’s honors include fellowships from the Whiting Foundation, TED, the Lannan Foundation, the Bread Loaf Writers’ Conference, and the Center for Fiction. His writing has appeared in the New York Times Book Review, Salon, and Tin House, among other publications. He serves on the faculty at New York University and Columbia University.
Julie Orringer Julie Orringer is the author of The Invisible Bridge, a novel, and the short-story collection How to Breathe Underwater, both New York Times Notable Books; her new novel, The Flight Portfolio, will be published this May. She is the winner of The Paris Review’s Discovery Prize and the recipient of fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation, the National Endowment for the Arts, the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study at Harvard, and the Dorothy and Lewis B. Cullman Center for Scholars and Writers at the New York Public Library. She has taught fiction writing for more than twenty years, and currently teaches in the MFA programs at Brooklyn College and Columbia University.



Howard Norman Howard Norman has received the Harold Morton Landon Prize in translation from the Academy of American Poets, a grant from the Wenner-Gren Foundation, three National Endowment for the Arts fellowships, a National Endowment for the Humanities Fellowship, a Merrill Foundation Fellowship, and the Lannan Award in fiction. His memoir about working in the arctic with Inuit language and folklore is In Fond Remembrance of Me. He has taught in the MFA program at the University of Maryland since 1988. His translation seminars and workshops have been held in Amsterdam, Montreal, San Francisco,  Washington, DC,  Genoa, and other cities.  He is the author of nine novels, the most recent of which, The Ghost Clause, will be published in July of 2019.


You may also peruse our complete list of past faculty from 1981 to the present.